Uppark is set high on the South Downs and "commands views as far south as the English Channel". It was built for Ford Grey (1655—1701), the first Earl of Tankerville, around 1690. It is now under the care of the National Trust and is open to the public. Due to its high elevation, Uppark is exposed to extremes of weather particularly in the winter months. This can lead to closure of the property at short notice. To avoid disappointment please call to check that Uppark is open before setting out.
The house is reputedly haunted by two female ghosts in the basement; an apparition of Sir Harry Fetherstonhaugh has been reported in the Red Drawing Room. Unusual lights have been reported in the Hunting Lodge located on the estate. Audible phenomenon include strange noises in empty rooms.
Pictured left is Uppark courtesy of EccentricRichard.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Ghosts: Mysterious Tales from the National Trust by Sian Evans.