Knepp Castle was built in the 12th century by William de Braose as a motte and bailey fortress. King John rebuilt it as a stone castle with a two-storey keep in 1214. It had a succession of royal visitors, including Henry III, Edward II and Richard II. It fell into decline and and by the 1720's it had been largely destroyed. In the early 19th century the remnants were reinforced and fenced in by Sir Charles Burrell to protect them from further deterioration.
The area around the ruins is supposedly haunted by the apparition of a white doe. According to local lore, it is the spirit of a bewitched girl from the 13th century.
Pictured left is a view of Knepp Castle courtesy of Simon Carey.
Knepp Castle Estate,
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe.