The house was built in 1350 and is a rare surviving example of a Wealden timber framed hall house. Although it was called the Clergy House it was unusual for the priest of the parish to live there. Most of the time the house was rented out by the church as a source of income. It was the first property to be acquired by the National Trust, purchased in 1896 for £10.
Coxe states that it is reputed to be haunted, but does not say by what.
East Sussex, BN26 5TL.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe.