The Coalhouse Fort was opened in 1874, and was intended to protect the River Thames and beyond against potential invasion. It was operational throughout World War 1 and World War 2, and finally ceased operational duties in 1962. However, since the early 1980's, a voluntary group has overseen its restoration.
Paranormal phenomena have been reported at the site. These include spectral soldiers, white mists, a dark figure, phantom footsteps and voices, pushes by unseen hands, temerature drops and the "overpowering smell of garlic". The site has been investigated by the Ghost Club.
Pictured above is the cartridge magazine in Coalhouse Fort courtesy of Prioryman.
Coalhouse Fort Project,
Princess Margaret Road,
Essex, RM18 8PB.
For further information, please visit:
The Fort appeared on the TV program, Most Haunted. It was the location for two episodes aired in Series 10 (2008).
For more information, please read Haunted Britain by Richard Jones.