The Franciscan friary at Gloucester was founded in 1231, but was surrendered to the king in 1539 during the Dissolution of the Monasteries. Over the following years, the buildings were used for numerous purposes and in 1643 they were substantially damaged by Royalist forces during the siege of Gloucester.
Modern buildings have been contructed around the remains of the Priory, some of which incorporate the structure.
The priory is reputedly haunted and as such some of the phenomena from it spills over into the new premises. Phenomena include bangs and crashing sounds, as well as the movement of objects.
Pictured left is Greyfriars courtesy of David Stowell.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Heritage by John Mason.