St. James Garlickhythe is a Church of England parish church, nicknamed ‘Wren’s lantern’ because of its profusion of windows. Built in the 12th century, the church was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and rebuilt by the office of Sir Christopher Wren.
It is haunted by the ghost of ‘Jimmy the Mummy’ who has been seen both in the porch and inside the church. His actual embalmed body was discovered in the vaults in 1855. The mummy now sits in the tower in a newly made case, having been moved from public display.
St. James Garlickhythe,
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe.