Originally known as 'Bryck Place', Sutton House was built in 1535 by Sir Ralph Sadler. It is the oldest residential building in Hackney and a rare example of a red brick building from the Tudor period. Sutton House became home to a succession of merchants, sea captains, Huguenot silk-weavers, Victorian schoolmistresses and Edwardian clergy. Today, it is owned by the National Trust and is open to the public.
The House is reputedly haunted. Apparitions include a Lady in White that has been sighted where the shop is now located; and a Lady in Blue has been witnessed in the Exhibition Room. Other phenomena include the sounds of dogs wailing in the house during the hours of darkness, sudden temperature drops, cabinet doors opening on their own and the movement of objects.
A photograph taken in the 1980's outside the cafe allegedly shows a figure in white.
Pictured left is Sutton House courtesy of Vicky Ayech.
2 and 4 Homerton High Street,
For further information, please visit:
Sutton House was featured on Most Haunted in 2007.
For further information, please read Ghosts: Mysterious Tales from the National Trust by Sian Evans.