Dating from the 17th century, this public house is leased to a private company. It is London's last remaining galleried inn.
It was formerly known as the George and Dragon, named after the legend of Saint George and the Dragon, but was rebuilt after a serious fire that destroyed most of medieval Southwark in 1677. Charles Dickens visited the George and referred to it in Little Dorrit.
The Inn is reputedly haunted by a "misty" female ghost, whom some claim to be that of either Amelia Murray or her daughter, Agnes. Amelia and Agnes ran the inn for a combined period of around 50 years from 1878. They are often blamed for interference with electrical or technological appliances.
Pictured left is the interior of the George Inn courtesy of Ewan Munro.
The George Inn Yard,
77, Borough High Street,
London, SE1 1NH.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Ghosts: Mysterious Tales from the National Trust by Sian Evans.