Since they were built more than 1,700 years ago, the walls, towers and enclosing ditches of the Roman fort at Portchester have been the constant and defining element of Portchester Castle. Portchester was a baronial castle taken under royal control in 1154. The monarchy controlled the castle for several centuries and it was a favoured hunting lodge of King John. It was besieged and captured by the French in 1216 before permanently returning to English control shortly thereafter. It is now under the care of English Heritage.
The castle is reputedly haunted by a number of apparitions. These include a tall and white "misty figure", a phantom monk, and a dark-haired woman.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Castles of Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.