Haverholme Priory was constructed in 1137, and the Gilbertine order sent nuns and brothers from Sempringham to inhabit the new buildings of what was to be a double monastery. Henry VIII dissolved the Priory in 1538 and it had various owners for the next two and a half centuries, and was rebuilt in 1830. The present ruin is a Grade II listed building and designated Ancient Monument.
The Priory is reputedly haunted by the sounds of footsteps.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Britain's Haunted Heritage by J A Brooks.