Tattershall Castle has its origins in either a stone castle or a fortified manor house, built by Robert de Tattershall in 1231. This was largely rebuilt in brick, and greatly expanded, by Ralph, 3rd Lord Cromwell, Treasurer of England, between 1430 and 1450. It is now in the care of the National Trust and open to the public.
The castle is reputedly haunted by a White Lady that wanders the battlements after dark. Leaflets have been reportedly scattered around in a turret room whilst the building is closed.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Castles of Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.