The Bestwood Lodge Hotel is a former Royal hunting lodge set in the 700-acre Bestwood Country Park, just four miles from the city centre. The current lodge was built between 1858 and 1865 in the Gothic style, and it still features its own Gothic Chapel. However, an earlier building on the site was mentioned in the Domesday Book. The then hunting lodge was bestowed to Henry Beauclerk (the illegitimate son King Charles II and Nell Gwynn) by his father.
The hotel is reputedly haunted. According to Moakes, the "misty figure of a woman wearing a long grey dress" has been seen walking in the cellars. A similarly described figure has been reported in the bar. Also in the bar, the chandalier has been seen to swing of its own volition.
The aroma of oranges have been reported around the hotel, and this has been attributed to Nell Gwynn, who was of course an orange seller before her infamous relationship with King Charles II.
The sounds of a galloping horse has been reported in the grounds around the hotel, and a Lady in White has been sighted walking in the park here. Is this the same lady that has also been reported laughing and talking to invisible companions?
According to Matthews, the apparition of a WW1 soldier was sighted for some time on the upper corridors of the hotel. Given that this was used as a military hospital during both World Wars, this may come as no surprise to some. However, sightings seemed to fizzle out.
Pictured left is the Bestwood Lodge Hotel courtesy of M J Richardson.
Bestwood Lodge Hotel,
Bestwood Lodge Drive,
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Places of Nottinghamshire by Rupert Matthews and Haunted Nottinghamshire by Len Moakes.