The Earl of Ducie built The Langston with stabling for forty horses as a hunting lodge in the 1870’s. It was constructed using stone from the private quarry of his father in law, Squire Langston. It then became a popular hotel. In 1985 it was turned into a residential home. In the 1960’s, witnesses reported a white shape that resembled the appearance of a nun along with shuffling sounds and footsteps.
For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe and Britain's Haunted Heritage by J.A. Brooks.