Sudbury, Suffolk, England

St. Gregory’s Church

The Mill Hotel

The Mill Hotel (pictured left courtesy of Keith Evans) is a beautful hotel on the River Stour.


The hotel has a rather grisly permanent resident - a mummified cat! This artifact was said to be the cause of bad luck when it was discovered and moved in 1971. After a series of bizarre incidents, it was replaced and all seems to have returned to normal.


When they tried to move it again in 1999, its no surprise that the same happened. Needless to say that the mummified moggy has been reinterred!


For more information, please read Haunted Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.

St. Gregory’s Church

St. Gregory’s Church (pictured above) is haunted by the ghost of Archbishop Simon Sudbury (born circa 1316; killed in the Peasants' Revolt on 14 June 1381) was Bishop of London from 1361 to 1375, Archbishop of Canterbury from 1375 until his death, and in the last year of his life Lord Chancellor of England. He was dragged to Tower Hill and was beheaded. His body was buried in Canterbury Cathedral, although his head (after being taken down from London Bridge) was sent to St. Gregory’s Church. It remains there to this day.


For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe.


Visitor Information

Sudbury is a small market town in Suffolk, England.

It is located on the River Stour near the Essex border, and is 60 miles northeast of London.

Pictured left is St. Gregory's Church courtesy of Robert Edwards. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.