St. John's Priory was a preceptory built in around 1338 for the Knights Hospitallers. It was dissolved in 1541. It has been a private residence for some time, having a number of extensions from different eras, with the last being added in the 1830s. It is NOT OPEN to the public.
The site where St. John’s Priory once stood is now occupied by a house. The sound of chanting has been reported, whereas others have been “terrified” whilst staying there.
Pictured left is a view of St. John's Priory from Poling Street courtesy of Simon Carey.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe.