Stourhead is a 1,072-hectare estate at the source of the River Stour. The estate includes a Palladian mansion, the village of Stourton, gardens, farmland, and woodland. Stourhead has been part owned by the National Trust since 1946.
The alleged haunted part of the estate is in an Education Room located in an outbuilding situated in the courtyard of the Spread Eagle Inn. This overlooks the Memorial Hall.
At one time, this was the National Trust shop. Witnesses have reported that upon entering the room, their skin would become clammy and hair would stand on end. An inexplicable loud noise, doors would be found locked when they had been opened, objects would be moved or disappear (only to reappear later), and electrical lighting would fail.
A "grey figure" was reported walking through the wall and out through the window into the courtyard.
Pictured left is the entrance to the mansion at Stourhead courtesy of Josep Renalias.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Ghosts: Mysterious Tales from the National Trust by Sian Evans.