Huntington Castle, also known as Clonegal Castle, was originally a "plantation castle", used for defensive purposes during the plantation of the area in the early 17th century. The original tower house was built in the 15th century as a stronghold for the Caviness family. It is now a private house open seasonally to the public for guided tours.
The castle is reputedly haunted by a number of apparitions. These include: monks that stroll through the gardens; Ailish O'Flaherty, the first wife of Lord Esmonde, who has been sighted standing by the 'spy bush' at night and wailing in anguish; a 17th century soldier knocks on the castle doors; Barbara St Lege (1748-1820) walks the corridors jangling a bunch of keys, accompanied by her servant named Honor Byrne; and finally, Bishop Leslie of Limerick stands in the 'four-poster room'.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Castles of Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.