Killakee House, Killakee, County Dublin, Ireland, was a country house built in c.1806 for Luke White, an Irish politician and bookseller. It was the centerpiece of the 3,400-acre estate, but was demolished in 1941 after many years of vacancy. It is pictured left circa 1865–1914 courtesy of Robert French (1841-1917).
Further down the hill, along the Military Road, is a two-story house, known as both The Stewards House or as Killakee House. It is not to be confused with the now-demolished Killakee House. It was built around 1765 by the Conolly family as a hunting lodge. Over the years, it has served as a dower house and as a residence for the agent who managed the Killakee Estate.
The Stewards House became known as the location for the "Black Cat of Killakee" and a haunting that started in 1968. In that year, the derelict building was purchased and renovations commenced, only to be interupted by a series of strange sounds, odd happenings and the appearance of a large black cat with glowing red eyes that exuded a tangible air of fear. The ghosts of two nuns appeared in the building. Local folklore states that the building was used by the Hell Fire Club for "satanic rituals" during the 18th century.
12 Killakee Road,
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.