Malahide Castle (Irish: Caisleán Mhullach Íde), has parts which date to when the estate began in 1185. It was home to the Talbot family for 791 years, from 1185 until 1976, the only exception being the period from 1649–60, when Oliver Cromwell granted it to Miles Corbet after the Cromwellian conquest of Ireland. The building was notably enlarged in the reign of Edward IV, and the towers added in 1765. In 1975, the castle was sold to the Irish State and is open to the public.
The castle is reputedly haunted by the ghost of Puck - a four-foot tall fellow with a 'straggly beard' and a castle watchman in the 15th century. He apparently appears whenever there are major changes at the castle.
Pictured above is Malahide Castle courtesy of William Murphy.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Castles of Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.