The first manison house to be built on the site of Charleville castle was by Thomas Moore circa 1641. A house was commissioned in 1798 and was built between 1800 and 1812. The castle was not continuously occupied, owing to the various castle owners lack of resources. The castle remained uninhabited from 1912 and by 1968 the roof had been removed. Work on its restoration was commenced in 1971. A Charitable Trust has been formed to help with the restoration.
The castle is reputedly very haunted. Reported visual phenomena include apparitions of Charles William Bury; Francis Johnston; a woman in a black hood; a little girl in a blue dress; a small boy; a procession of monks or druids.
Other effects include the sounds of children playing, the sounds of people talking, and lights and radios switching on of their own accord.
Pictured left is Charleville Castle courtesy of Jgillett.
For further information, please visit:
Due to its reputation, the castle has featured on Living TV's Most Haunted, Fox's Scariest Places on Earth and Ghost Hunters International.
For further information, please read Haunted Castles of Britain and Ireland by Richard Jones.