Kinnaird Head is a headland projecting into the North Sea. The 16th-century Kinnaird Castle was converted in 1787 for use as the Kinnaird Head Lighthouse, the first lighthouse in Scotland to be lit by the Commissioners of Northern Lights. Both buildings are category A listed buildings.
Kinnaird Castle was begun in March 1570. In 1787 it was leased to the Trustees of the Northern lights, who turned it into Kinnaird Head Lighthouse. The structure was rebuilt in the 1820s, and superseded by a new lighthouse in 1991.
It now houses the Museum of Scottish Lighthouses.
The area of the castle is reputedly haunted by the ghost of Isobel Fraser and the sounds of ghostly pipe music.
Pictured above is Kinnaird Head Lighthouse courtesy of UK Payphone Directory.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Richard Jones.