Mary King's Close is an old Edinburgh close under buildings in the Old Town area, taking its name from one Mary King, daughter of advocate Alexander King, who in the 17th century had owned several properties there. The close was partially demolished and buried under the Royal Exchange (pictured above). It has become a place shrouded in myth - with a reputation of being very haunted. Mary King's Close is now a commercial tourist attraction.
According to sources, many plague victims perished there in 1645, and this resulted in many a restless spirit remaining there, causing a nasty type of haunting.
Today, a number of phenomena are reported. These include the apparitions of a tall woman in black; a short, elderly man; and a little girl.
Pictured left is the interior of Mary King's Close courtesy of The Continnuum Group.
2 Warriston's Close,
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Richard Jones.