Closeburn, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland


Closeburn Castle

Closeburn Castle is a tower house, probably of the 14th century, but possibly older, and is one of the oldest continually inhabited houses in Scotland. Records indicate that the lands were granted to the Kirkpatrick family back in 1232. However, there are conflicting dates for its construction - 1180 and 1420 - which could make it 12th century or 15th century.


However, the castle has a legend that fortells the death of a member of the Kirkpatrick family. Apparently, around the 1820's two swans would come to the Closeburn every summer for a number of years, bringing with them good fortunes. However, for some reason, one of the Kirkpatricks shot and killed one. Since that time, one swan would return occasionally (complete with a bloodstained breast) to herald some misfortune or death in the family.


The castle is also reputed to be haunted by a woman in black, and there are ghost tour led by a group called Mostly Ghostly.


Pictured left is Closeburn Castle courtesy of Kirkpatrick.


55°12'41.0"N 3°43'07.0"W


For further information, please visit:


For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe.


Visitor Information

Closeburn (Scottish Gaelic: Cill Osbairn) is a village in Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland.

It lies on the A76 road 2.5 miles south of Thornhill.

Pictured is Closeburn courtesy of Walter Baxter. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.