Earlshall Castle was built in 1546 by Sir William Bruce, a survivor of the Battle of Flodden. A later family member, Sir Andrew Bruce, gained himself the moniker of “Bluidy Bruce” (Bloody Bruce) by hacking off the hands and head of Covenanter Richard Cameron after defeating him at the battle of Airds Moss. The castle was later abandoned and left in a ruined state. However, it was restored by Sir Robert Lorimer in 1892. Since then it has changed hands numerous times and is still occupied. The castle is a category A listed building, privately owned and is therefore NOT open to the public.
The castle is reportedly haunted by a servant girl and what has been described as a "sinister" apparition referred to as "Bruce". Could this be the aforementioned "Bluidy Bruce"? Heavy footsteps have been reported on one of the staircases.
Pictured left is Earlshall Castle courtesy of Kim Traynor.
For further information, please read Haunted Scottish Castles and Houses by G. Stewart.