The Bull Hotel (pictured above) is a fine timbered house, situated near the village green, was built for a wealthy wool merchant in 1450 and by 1580 it had become The Bull Hotel. It is reputedly haunted by manifestations and poltergeist-like activity including the movement of objects.
For more information, please read Haunted Britain by Antony D. Hippisley Coxe and Britain's Haunted Heritage by J A Brooks.
Melford Hall is a stately home and ancestral seat of the Parker Baronets. The hall was mostly constructed in the 16th century, incorporating parts of a medieval building held by the abbots of Bury St Edmunds which had been in use since before 1065. Beatrix Potter was a cousin of the family and was a frequent visitor from the 1890's onwards.
The house is reputedly haunted by the former occupant, Countess Rivers.
Pictured left is Melford Hall courtesy of Charles Rawding.
For further information, please visit:
For further information, please read Britain's Haunted Heritage by J A Brooks.