Lydiard Tregoze, Wiltshire, England

Lydiard House

Lydiard Park

Lydiard Park is a 260-acre (1.1 km2) country park, of which Lydiard House (pictured above) is the manor house located within. It was once the home of the St. John family from 1420, until the house became dilapidated. The house and grounds were bought by Swindon Corporation and is now run as a museum and local attraction.


However, there are reports of former members of the St. John family lingering at their home. Apparitions at the Manor include that of Sir John St. John (1585-1648), who has been sighted in the Morning Room and Library. A drop in temperature is said to be noticable before he appears, followed by the smell of "sweet tobaco". He has also been reported walking in the grounds. This is also the location of a phantom Civil War-era drummer boy that silently beats his drum, a White Lady and a phantom coach and horses.


The church in the grounds is haunted by more members of the familym as well as a grey hooded figure that exudes a feeling of evil. The sounds of a female crying and organ music have been heard in the building.

Lydiard House & Park,

Lydiard Tregoze,


SN5 3PA.


For further information, please visit:


For further information, please read Haunted Britain by Richard Jones.


Visitor Information

Lydiard Tregoze is a small village in Wiltshire, England.

Pictured left is St. Mary's Church, Kilmington courtesy of Maigheach-gheal. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.