The Maes Manor Hotel is situated on Maesrudded Hill, within nine acres of manicured terraced lawns and woodland in Blackwood, where you can enjoy "spectacular views over the surrounding countryside".
Maesrudded was the home of Mr. Edmund Williams and his family. At the beginning of the 19th Century, the building was a prosperous farm, with large land holdings. The family left Maesrudded during the 1930s. The house was then used as a hospital and a children’s home before becoming the Maes Manor Hotel.
The Maes Manor Hotel is said to have a ghost that appears around the upper parts of the building, and an article featured it in the South Wales Argus in the early 1990's. As a result of that, an interview was undertaken with then then Manager. Enquiries are on going to obtain a copy of the report.
Pictured left is the Maes Manor Hotel courtesy of Gareth James.
Maes Manor Hotel,
Maes Rudded Lane,
For further information, please visit:
In a house somewhere on Bedwellty Road, reports were made of an apparition of a “frighteningly ugly old woman” appearing in one of the bedrooms. This apparition would tap a ring by the side of the witnesses' bed.
For further information, please read The Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.
According to Roderick, in September 1932 there was a report of unusual occurences at a family home in Blackwood. Phenomena happened after some of the family engaged in some table rapping experimentation. The table levitated and moved around forcefully and knocking sounds were heard.
For further information, please read Haunted Gwent by Alan Roderick.