Newport City, Newport, Wales

The Transporter Bridge in Newport

A Terrifying Experience

During the early 1980's, a family living in an early Victorian house in one of the older parts of Newport, reported a terrifying apparition. All the females at the address witnessed the figure of a man, with “a long and haggard face” and hollow cheeks. At one point, it allegedly pushed one of the women and then took hold of her with some strength.

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

Belmont Hill

The apparition of a man wearing a long black coat and holding an umbrella above his head has been reported walking up Belmont Hill at Christchurch.

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

 

Pictured left is a view up Belmont Hill courtesy of Jaggery.

Clarence Place

The old Coliseum, or the Studio 1 and 2 cinema, was demolished in the mid 1990's and there are now flats occupying its space. The building was special to many people who vividly recall childhood visits to see many films there. However, according to former employees, a woman wearing a 1930’s style dress and a male presence haunted the building, and an icy sensation was experienced. Does the new building still house these ghosts, or have they left too?

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

 

Pictured left is the site of the former cinema turned flats courtesy of Jaggery.

Mill Street

The George and Dragon Pub once stood in Mill Street. It has now long since been demolished, but in its heyday it was reputedly haunted by the sounds of loud cries and the noise of men fighting. Furniture was also said to move of its own accord. But does the haunting remain, even if the building is no more?

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

Newport Castle

Located on the Old Green Roundabout and next to the "town bridge", the castle is an impressive feature of the new city. The castle is said to be haunted by its founder, Robert Fitzhamon. He is said to be seen wandering the central tower, an imposing bearded figure with "piercing eyes". The castle is not accessible to the public due to safety concerns.

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick; and Ghosts of Wales by Peter Underwood.

 

Pictured left is a view of the castle courtesy of Owain.

Clevedon Road

Clevedon Road is in the Christchurch area, and involves an old house set in its own grounds that was a nursing home, but is now private flats. Nursing home staff often said it was host to some strange activity. Nurses reported footsteps at night, electrical items would be switched off at the plugs, the figure of a man was seen, and chairs would sink as if someone was sitting on them. Is this the same building mentioned in the case mentioned in the Christchurch District below? It was said that a doctor committed suicide at the old house many years ago...

Christchurch District

During the late 1940's, in a detached house in its own grounds somewhere at the top of St. Julian's Road, electricians were called to rewire the premises. The house was believed to have been the local headquarters of the barrage balloon operators during the war. Whilst they were alone in the house on a rather wet and rainy day, they reportedly heard the front door open and footsteps enter. They heard the footsteps walk up the stairs and cross the floor above them. After waiting for a while for the person to come down with no result, they decided to check the house. They found no wet footprints leading from the front door to the upstairs. They did not find anyone else in the house...

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

Clytha Park Road

From reports in 1992, the car showrooms of Roger Gibbons (now changed to a Tesco Express), were allegedly haunted. The ghost of figure wearing a grey cloak was reported, car doors would slam shut and a feeling of unease was experienced.

 

For further information, please read Haunted Gwent by Alan Roderick.

 

Pictured left is a view of the Tesco Express on Clytha Park Road courtesy of Jaggery.

Dents Hill

The ghost of a woman has been seen sitting on a fence on Dents Hill. Apparently, late one night, a man who was walking home alone saw her. She spoke to the man saying, "The day is for you, but the night is for me" and vanished!

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

Emlyn Street

The ghost of Sister Aquinas was said to haunt the old Holy Cross Roman Catholic School once located in Emlyn Street. The double swing doors were reportedly seen to open of their own accord, cold breezes were felt in isolated spots, and footsteps were heard. Whether she still wanders the site is unknown...

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

Eveswell

Originating in the 1840's, a tale emerged about two ghostly dogs that accompanied some children as they went on their late journey between Christchurch and Eveswell. Apparently, the two animals left the children feeling secure and safe, only to disappear when the youngsters neared their destination.

 

For further information, please read Ghosts of Gwent by Alan Roderick.

South Wales Argus Newspaper Office

Members of the canteen staff reported objects moving of their own accord in the kitchen. Interestingly, these phenomena appeared to be a one-off event.

 

For further information, please read Haunted Gwent by Alan Roderick.

 

Pictured left is a view of the South Wales Argus office located on Cardiff Road courtesy of Jaggery.

St. Julians

There is a street off Heather Road, where a young woman was just one of several people to experience some of the strange phenomena in a particular house.

 

Whilst alone in the house (which belonged to her grandmother) at lunchtime, the woman heard the sounds of distinct footsteps approaching from behind her. They were distinctive in that one footstep was normal, but the following one was as if a foot was being dragged. Knowing that she was alone, she ran from the house without looking! On speaking to her father later that day at her own home, she was informed that a crippled man had died in the house. The same experience had been reported by others including himself. Other people felt the presence of someone looking over them whilst they were in bed at night.

Ye Olde Murenger

Built in 1403, this is allegedly Newport's oldest pub, located on the town centre between the Kings Hotel and McDonalds. The figure of a man has been seen in the upstairs of the premises. Is this the ghost of a man who committed suicide here?

 

Pictured left is a view of the Ye Olde Murenger public house located at 52-53 High Street, courtesy of Jeremy Bolwell.

The Westgate Hotel

Located at the bottom Stow Hill, the former Westgate Hotel is a historic building, famous as the scene of the 1839 Chartist riot, the so-called Newport Rising.

 

Hotel staff would report to have an encounter with the apparition of a man in black on the upper floors, and doors would open on their own...

 

Pictured left is a view of the former Westgate Hotel, courtesy of Jeremy Bolwell.

Tredegar House

This is one of the finest museum homes and grounds in Wales. But is it still home to those who once lived there?

 

A ghost dressed in "black knee-length trousers, a white shirt with frills down the front, black overcoat and black boots" has been seen walking the grounds.

 

People have also reported strange sounds coming from empty rooms, the ghost of a nun at prayer, parades of ghostly nuns walking through the inner courtyard, unexplained footsteps and a haunted out-building used for social gatherings.

 

Is this Wales most haunted house?

 

For further information, please read Haunted Gwent by Alan Roderick.

 

Pictured above is a view of Tredegar House, courtesy of Robin Drayton.

No Good Purpose

An 18th century Newport man used to keep a skull for divination and magic, according to the “Old Prophet”, Edmund Jones. Jones states that when the man lay dying, the ghost of the owner of the skull appeared to him. In his hand he carried his own skull, which he then hit the dying man on the nose with!

Best Left Alone

During the late 1700’s, an excise officer was having a good drink in a Newport Alehouse with his friends. He brought with him a skull he had removed from a charnel house as a dare, and used it to mess around with, much to his friends delight. However, when he went to return it, things turned ugly. A wind blew up around him, buffering him from side to side as he made his way home. During the night he was badly beaten by unseen forces with a cane he hung on his wall. He never messed with such things ever again. Would you?!

Malpas

The Manor House of “Pentrebach”, according to author Richard Holland is located in Malpas, and parts of it date from the Tudor period, whilst the rest is from the 17th century. In the latter part of the house is a grand hall, which was once troubled by a ghost that enjoyed shaking pictured off the walls whilst parties were being held there! However, we can find no record of such a property, but will endeavour to make further enquiries.

Location

Visitor Information

Newport (Welsh: Casnewydd) is a cathedral and University City and unitary authority area in south east Wales.

It is located on the River Usk close to its confluence with the Severn estuary, approximately 12 miles northeast of Cardiff.

Pictured above left is a view of the Transporter Bridge courtesy of Hywel Williams. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.