Surrey, England

Guildford Castle (courtesy of Suzanne Knights)

Visitor Information

Surrey is a county in the South East of England, and one of the Home Counties. The county borders Greater London, Kent, East Sussex, West Sussex, Hampshire, and Berkshire. The historic county town is Guildford.

Today's Surrey is divided into 11 boroughs and districts: Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Guildford, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Runnymede, Spelthorne, Surrey Heath, Tandridge, Waverley, Woking.


Haunted Hotspot

Farnham Castle

Farnham Castle overlooks the town of Farnham, making it a popular tourist attraction.

According to the Castle website, “historical associations and nearly continuous occupancy make the Castle one of the most important historical buildings in the south of England”.

However, it is also reputedly very haunted. Multiple phenomena have been reported in numerous castle buildings.

Phantoms include the apparition of Bishop Morley, indistinct human forms, a “little dancing girl”. and a priest or monk in a brown robe has been witnessed. Various audible effects have also been reported.